主页

读书

引语

照片

旅行

丛榕的十分境界

我的网站搬到了http://lily.gebweb.net/?lang=zh。本网站已不再更新。

2008年6月4日

在网上发现了这么一首粤语歌曲,如下。有些词句在普通话中难免有些蹩脚。

我的梦和你的梦 每一个梦源自黄河
五千年无数的渴望 在河中滔滔过

那一个梦澎湃欢乐 那一个梦倾涌苦楚
有几回唐汉风范 让同胞不受折磨

*
那天我中国展步 何时睡狮吼声惊世歌
冲天开觅向前路 巨龙挥出自我

要中国人人见欢乐 笑声笑面长伴黄河
五千年无数中国梦 内容始终一个*

(重复**)

要中国人人每一个做 自由乐畅幸福我

2008年2月24日

我才发现上次的记录中出了错:2007年9月20日是为时三天的会计考试的最后一天,我却说我马上就战。恐怕是考试前写的考试后贴的。我的相册之一记录了从九月到十二月的考试前后的点滴。在开始结果公布之前就庆祝了一番,先是去不列颠哥伦比亚省旅游,然后故地重游

悲惨的:过去的一年中只读了一本书:在圣诞节去挪威的飞机上读的《教父》。

可恶的:Flickr保留我的免费账户上的最近的200张照片。于是我兴高采烈的将所有照片挪到了谷歌的picasa上。你会发现我的“照片”链接到picasa。

丢失的:我的智齿。由后来的鲜血和疼痛陪伴,四颗全部舍弃。

还在的:你,我可爱的朋友。

2007年9月20日

新网站诞生了!

在沉寂了近半年之后,我终于有时间重新设计我的个人网站了。借助小盖的帮助,网站应用专业化设计:新网站直接用html编写,再不用微软的FrontPage凑合了;中英语网站分开,敲击左上方的按钮轻易切换。随之而来的最大的改变就是每个网页都有中英文两个版本,读中文的朋友们再也不用通过英文网站进入中文网页了!

以前的博客只有英文版,我已将其完全翻译成中文。有的词句为了通顺而意义略微更改,有的因为我的翻译能力有限而蹩脚,只能求读者的宽恕了。

历数一下半年来的新闻吧:拿到了会计硕士证书,从剑桥市搬到了滑铁卢市,已经为加拿大全国会计考试准备了一个多月了,马上就战。大家可以到“照片”网页浏览我的近期经历。若想得到所有详情,请访问“十分境界”的三维版。

2007年3月23日

比我想象的好一些。所谓好一些,我指的是更有趣也更忙碌。我并不介意忙碌,只是怀念从前对难题的恐惧和解开难题的快感。

“其实并不很糟。”这话听起来很糟。

我知道我努力的目标。但如果这目标不是我想要的,我不会有多大的动力和兴趣。很多人都是这个样子。实在可笑。

与此同时,我再次去了挪威,这次是一个更挪威的地区 。 而且至少喜欢一件和学业有关的事——我的金融课。现在感觉好多了。

2007年1月4日

会计研究生开课两天了,感觉若有所失——数学课。这是我整个学生生涯中唯一没有数学课的一个学期。我会因为轻松而感激,还是会因会计的枯燥而无聊?或者因为枯燥的课程太重,没有时间感受轻松或无聊或任何感觉。会计,你能耐它如何?

2006年10月3日

加了两条摘自安托尼亚·波其亚的《声音》(Voices)的引语(英文)。第一次读到这本格言书是在三年前。从那以后,每次到德纳波特图书馆(在滑铁卢大学内),我就要到九楼去学习(或不学习)因为《声音》在那里。小憩时翻两页,总都能得到新的启示。

今年我又读了一遍关于作者安托尼亚·波其亚的介绍。据他的一个密友讲,“他从没穿过一件衬衣。夏天只穿一件睡衣,冬天则穿一件稍厚的夹克。”

他把他弟弟留给他的房子卖了买了一个更小的,已用剩下的钱糊口。就这样,他也不卖他的几位著名画家朋友给他的画。

同样还是他,被朋友们描述为“对同伴无限关心”。但他倾听你的话时,你会觉得他能察觉到你“心灵的最深处”。

... ...

我不能再泄露了。还是让你自己读这本小而内容丰富的书吧。我现在成为正式的波其亚迷了!

2006年8月31日

今天没有提着工作的手提电脑回家——八个月的工作期结束了。整整一年的学习生涯将在2006年9月11日开始。这几天得以回首一下过去的八个月

2006年7月8日

又有人告诉我应该更频繁的更新网页。我回问:“我在做一个好会计,好学生,好女儿,好姐姐,好朋友的同时,怎么能总有时间更新网页?”于是之,个人网站被列在了我日程的最末。除非重要事件能通过网站广而告之,比如我第一次赴美旅行

2006年4月20日

最近很多人问我:工作我五个月了,是否更喜欢审计了。我不想流露出愤怒,也不愿说假话,只答:“我不如以前恨它了。”=/=(不等于号)我更喜欢它了。可能这就是四个月飞逝而去的原因吧——一直在睡,没有感觉,没有梦。也有例外的时候:和朋友们打壁球,和同事们开玩笑,读几本好书,还有和Geir聊天。最近和他度假一周。我得做些决定去逃离无感觉状态——具体讨论改日再说。

2006年1月14日

我重新设计了英文引语网页删了一些不再感触我的词句。

我为能读完并喜欢村上春树的《海边的卡夫卡》而自豪,因为有人告诉我只有特殊的一种人才能读下来村上春树的书,更别提欣赏了。不知道为什么我不是那种特殊的喜欢会计的人。

2006年1月8日

也许现在庆祝我的网站的一岁生日有些晚了,但给大家讲述我的挪威之旅却不迟。希望通过照片,你也能感到我的兴奋心情。

博克存档:

Home

Books

Quotes

Photos

Travel

Lily Rong Cong's

perfect little world

My website has moved to lily.gebweb.net. This website is no longer updated.

June 4, 2008

I found a Cantonese song on youtube and translated it as below. Since it's my first translation effort, please bear with the inevitable awkwardness.

My dream and your dream
In the Yellow River they grow
Five thousand years of countless wishes
With the torrent they flow

In the dream, happiness surges
From the dream, bitterness gushes
Have we seen again the Tang government's grace?
Citizens' torments it flushes

* That day China made a big stride
The world stunned by the lion's roar
The dragon let out its true self
Into the future did it soar

Every Chinese wants happiness
And to leave their smile along the Yellow River
Five thousand years of countless dreams in China
The substance has been the same since ever*

(Repeat **)

Only if every Chinese took action
Would I have freedom and satisfaction

February 24, 2008

I just found out that I lied in the last entry: September 20, 2007 was the last day of the three-day long Uniform Final Exam (UFE) yet I said I was ready for the exam. I think I wrote it before the exam and posted it after. One of my photo albums gives glimpse of my UFE experience from September to December. I then celebrated (before the results were released) with a trip to the beautiful British Columbia and a trip back to my hometown.

What is sad: I read only one book in the last year, The Godfather, on the flight to Norway during Christmas.

What is outrageous: Flickr keeps only the most recent 200 pictures on a free account, which I had. So I happily moved all my pictures to picasa, a free and integrated photo editor and web album program by Google. You'll notice that the photos page takes you to my picasa web album.

What is missing: My wisdom...teeth. All four were taken out two weeks ago with considerable blood and pain.

What is still there: You, my lovely friend.

September 20, 2007

New site launched!

After almost half a year of silence, I finally got around to revamping my website. With help from Geir, the site is now done in a more pro way: coded with html instead of made up using FrontPage, with separate English and Chinese sites, easily accessible by clicking on the buttons at the top of each page.

So what happened since last time? Let's see... I became a Master of Acounting (isn't that cool? :P), moved to Waterloo from Cambridge, and has prepared for my Uniform Final Exam for more than a month and is almost ready now. You may visit the "Photos" page for a glimpse of the recent events, or visit the 3D version of the "perfect little world" for full details.

March 23, 2007

It ended up better than I expected. And by "better", I mean a bit more interesting and a lot busier. Not that I mind the busyness; I just miss the feeling of dreading over challenging problems and the excitement of solving one.

"It's really not too bad." And that sounds bad.

I know the goal I'm working towards. But I'm not terribly motivated and interested if the goal is not something I want badly. A lot of people in the same boat are like this. And that is interesting.

Meanwhile, I did go to Norway again and this time to a more Norwegian part of it. I did do well and enjoy at least one thing academic-related - my finance course. I feel better now.

January 4, 2007

Two days into the Master of Accountancy program, something seems to be missing - oh, math courses! For the first time in my student life, I'm not taking any math courses during a school term. Will I appreciate the break, or will I be bored of the unchallenging accounting stuff? Or maybe the tedious work is so much that I don't have time to take a break or feel bored, or feel anything at all. It's accounting, what do you think?

October 3, 2006

Hey, two new quotes added from Antonia Porchia's Voices. I first read this aphorism book three years ago. After that, whenever I go to the Dana Porter Library (on the University of Waterloo campus), I go to the 9th floor to study (or not study) because that's where Voices is, which I read when I need a break from study and out of which I get something new every time.

Today, I read again about Antonia Porchia himself, who, according to one of his close friends, "never wore a shirt" (but did wear a "pajama jacket in the summer" and a "thicker jacket...in the winter").

He also had to sell the house his brother left him and get a smaller one so that he could live on the difference, but kept all the paintings given by his friends as gifts, some of whom the most influential contemporary artists in Argentina.

And the same person, was described as being able to have "boundless attention" when he listened to others and to "create a depth in his companions".

... ...

I can't give out more before you read it yourself. There's just so much about this little book. I'm an official Porchia fan now!

August 31, 2006

I returned home without a work laptop - my eight-month work term officially ended. A full year of school starts on September 11, 2006. Meanwhile I get to look back at the past eight months .

July 8, 2006

I was told again that I should update my website more often. To that, I ask, "How can I be expected to be a good website-updater if, at the same time, I need to be a good auditor, a good treasurer, a good student, a good daughter, a good sister, a good girlfriend, and a good friend?" Consequently, the website is put to the bottom of my list, except when important events can be most effectively communicated to the mass through this website, such as my first trip to the United States of America.

April 20, 2006

I've been asked a lot if I like auditing better that it's my second work term doing it. I don't want to show my rage and I don't want to lie, so I say "I hate it less" =/= (not equal to sign) I like it better. Maybe that's why four months flew by - because I felt nothing; I was sleeping the whole time, no feeling, no dreams. Except for the moments where I enjoyed playing squash with my friends, joking with my colleagues, reading some great books, and most of all, talking to Geir and spending a week with him recently. Decisions will be made to escape this no-feeling state - in-depth discussion at a later date.

As usual, I'm not going to be disappointing - ta-la!

January 14, 2006

I redesigned the quotes page and deleted some that don't touch me as much anymore.

I'm proud of myself for having finished reading Haruki Murakami's Kafka on the Shore since I've been told that it takes a very special kind of person to read Murakami's books, not to mention enjoying them, which I did. I wonder why I didn't happen to be the very special kind of person that likes accounting.

January 8, 2006

It might be a little too late to celebrate my website's first birthday now, but may not be too late yet to give you some update on my New Year's Norwegian trip. And hopefully through the pictures, you can feel some of the excitement I felt.