jump to content immediately

Posts filed under '思考'

养老院的摩托车

一个关于一位普通人的故事上个月在挪威国家电台播出。不知为什么,它总是在我的脑海里徘徊。

六月底,大多数挪威人都去渡假了,很多人去别处旅行。但有些人却因为身体原因不能旅游,比如说养老院的老人们。所以一位爱骑摩托车的护士想出了一个主意——在他的摩托车旁边安一个挂斗,给老人们提供个人旅行,又舒适又可以呼吸到新鲜空气。

这是一个晴朗的六月天,这一天轮到一位老太太和摩托车护士——麦克·罗伯格——去旅游了。麦克是个壮汉,他像抱孩子一样把老太太抱起来、放到挂斗里。骑车的路上他问老太太怎么样,她说“好,很好,从没有现在更好过!”声音像快活的年轻人一样。他们骑过奥斯陆市中心,谈论途经的地方,就像久别重逢的老朋友一样。

养老院的员工们也想到过安全问题,尤其是有心脏病的老人们。但是他们决定一年到头把老人们关起来更糟。至今为止还没发生过一起事故,老人们也从来没有这么快乐过。

麦克谈到他自己。他学的是平面设计,曾为“宜家”设计《家居指南》。在事业最高峰时,他发现工作没有意义,决定去作护士。现在他是一个快乐的护士,每天把快乐带给别人。

当人们遵从自己的心灵时,就很容易发明解决大问题的简单又巧妙的方法,就自然而然的有所作为。我希望更多的人像他一样遵从自己的心灵。我希望我能成为像他一样。

lily in 思考 on 七月 26 2011 » 0 comments

想着安德斯·布列维克

如果我们每个人的生活中都有一个人对我们说:“无论如何我都会爱你”,那么我们就永远不会进精神病院。

—— 利奧.巴士卡力,《爱、生活与学习》

今天,悲剧发生后的的第一天,我路过奥斯陆市中心。街道上的人流几乎恢复到了往常的密度,然而看着从未见过的守卫议会楼的持枪士兵,人们的思绪不停的回到昨天的事件上。新闻里、甚至整个国家电视频道里除了对这件事的报道没有别的内容。这个从二战以来就没有恨过任何人的国家今天有一个敌人——安德斯·布列维克——悲剧的罪魁祸首(至少是其中之一),一个在奥斯陆长大的挪威本土人,一个被邻居描述为“有时太客气”的人。

但是现在,我在想着安德斯·布列维克。

他是什么样的人?他小的时候他的父母有没有花时间陪他玩耍和学习?他的家人和他是否还很近,他们是否还经常走动、一起开怀大笑?他有没有一个在他遇到困难时可以与之倾吐的导师?他有没有遇到过一个与其说“如果⋯⋯我就会爱你”而无条件爱他的人?

听到新闻中说他的同学记得他却没有和他保持联系的时候,我想到了这些问题。我查到1995年在美国俄克拉荷马市炸死168人的麦克威曾感到自己没有家并被他追求的女人们拒绝。我查到1999年在美国科罗拉多州科伦拜中学对自己同学们开枪的哈里斯和克莱伯德曾在学校被暴力欺辱,而后为了解脱转向欺辱别人。我想知道布列维克的生活是什么样子的。

当然,每个人都有过遭遇,而且有的人比别人能更快更好的再次站起来。但是作为家人、朋友和同胞,我们有责任减少这些遭遇并且帮助那些有过遭遇的人从中挣脱出来。我觉得我们——尤其是在西方发达国家的我们这些人——在这方面做得并不好。我们在防止这类事件发生上做得并不好。

今晚,我在想着安德斯·布列维克。


议会(“Stortinget”)楼后面的军事警卫,2011年7月23日,奥斯陆。

lily in 引语,思考 on 七月 23 2011 » 1 comment

我很幸运

今天我见到了一个人,才发觉自己有多幸运。

是在阿博奖颁奖仪式上见到的(阿博奖由挪威科学院每年颁给一位有国际声誉的数学家)。也就是在那儿,他履行了他最常见的工作职责。

当大家都坐下了、门关上了的时候,门又再一次开了,他进来了。大家都站起来。他坐下后,大家也都坐下。一些讲话和一些音乐过后,他走上台、把奖颁给获奖者、说“祝贺你”。之后又有更多的讲话和音乐。整个仪式在他进场后半小时后结束。他站起来,大家也站了起来,他走出大厅,大家也随后。

从他出生那天起,他的命运就注定了。他不能选择他渴望的职业,也不能随意发表他的看法。他出席仪式、与人握手、说助词。他也许是今日典型的工作族之一——他必须做自己并不很喜欢的工作;然而他的境地又不如别人——他不能决定辞职。

他,就是挪威的国王。

lily in 思考 on 五月 26 2011 » 0 comments

又一年浪费了

当天空突然被四面的烟花点亮时,我大喊一声:“又一年浪费了!”不仅是我一个人,我相信很多个人作和我们这个大集体都是这样:哥本哈根会议没有产生任何实际效果;在两个被我视为家的国家里,一个国家仍以畸形鱼和癌症村为代价用较多较便宜的能源从肮脏的焦油砂中提取较少缺较昂贵能源,另一个国家其他继续严厉惩罚“犯罪思想”。

但我觉得我应该比那些政客强。所以我更仔细的回顾,发现虽然没有惊人的成就,似乎也确实在为增进自己和他人的快乐和自由方面取得了些进展:

1. 花了六个星期与母亲渡假。加强个人的身体、心灵、和与人关系直接促进社会的更加美好。

2. 致力于推进不列颠哥伦比亚省的比例代表制比例代表制比得票最多者当选制能得到更民主的选举结果。目前加拿大的所有联邦和省级选举都应用后者。

3. 获得特许会计师称号。我不再必须为审计行业卖命。

4. 开始从一个本地食品的供应商那买菜(这里指所有吃食的统称)。我在未来两年内的目标是90%的食品来自本地(150公里的范围内),并自己种一些菜,从而减少全球食品系统导致的污染和奴役(详见电影“食品公司(英文)”;电影虽然聚焦于美国,却代表大多发达国家的食品系统)。

5. 95%的时间骑自行车或乘公共交通完成10公里以内的行程。

有了这些,我不再遗憾。

lily in 思考 on 一月 01 2010 » 1 comment

我所观察到的现代摄影趋向

照片的每个角落——高清晰,更高清晰!

(以上结论是我观察加拿大国家美术馆和安大略省美术馆的摄影展之后得出的。)

lily in 摄影,思考 on 十月 12 2009 » 0 comments

无题

任何一个建造宏伟建筑的政府都有隐瞒它的人民的事。

lily in 政治,思考 on 九月 05 2009 » 0 comments

jump to content immediately

Posts filed under 'Thoughts'

Motorcycle at the nursing home

A simple story about an ordinary person was told on the Norwegian national radio last month. Somehow I can’t keep my mind off it.

It is the end of June, and most Norwegians start to go on vacations, many travelling to other places. But some cannot travel due to physical constraints, for example the elderly people at nursing homes. So, a nurse who likes riding motorcycles came up with an idea – bundling a sidecar to his motorcycle and offering residents personalized trips, with comfort and fresh air.

It’s a beautiful day in June and it’s an elder lady’s turn to travel with the motorcycle nurse, Michael Raaberg. Michael is a strong man, and he lifts her up and puts her down in the sidecar like a child. During the ride, Michael asks how she does. She says, “Good, very good, never better!” with a youthful and cheerful voice. They drive through the Oslo city centre, they talk about different places they pass by, like old friends who haven’t seen each other for a long time.

The issue of safety, especially with residents with heart diseases, has popped up in the heads of the staff team once, but they decided that it’s much worse “locking up” the residents all year long. So far, there hasn’t been one single incident and the residents have never been happier.

Michael talks about himself. He was educated as a graphic designer and designed catelogues for Ikea. At the height of his career, he found his work lack of meaning and decided to become a nurse instead. Now he’s a happy nurse, bringing happiness into other people’s lives.

When people follow their hearts, they easily come up with simple and yet ingenious solutions to big problems, they naturally make a difference. I hope more and more people follow their hearts like him. I hope I become like him.

lily in Thoughts on July 26 2011 » 0 comments

Thinking of Anders Behring Breivik

If everyone just had one single person in his life who says, “I will love you no matter what”, then we’ll never end up in mental institutions.

– Leo Buscaglia, “Living, Loving and Learning”

I passed by the centre of Oslo today, the day after the tragic events. The streets are fairly full again, although the never-before-seen armed soldiers guarding the parliament building bring people ever closer to what happened yesterday. There is nothing in the news, or on the national TV channel, other than coverage about the incidents. The nation, which had not hated anyone since WWII, has one enemy today – Anders Behring Breivik, the (or at least one) culprit, a native Norwegian who grew up in Oslo, and who is described by his neighbours as being “sometimes overly polite”.

But right now, I’m thinking of Anders Behring Breivik.

Who is he? Did his parents spend time with him, both playing and learning, when he was young? Does his family still live close to him, visit him and laugh with him? Did he, or does he have a mentor he could talk to when he’s stuck? Did he ever meet someone who would love him unconditionally, instead of saying “I will love you, if …”?

I thought of these questions when they said in the news that his schoolmates remember him but have not kept in touch with him. I found out that Timothy McVeigh, who detonated a bomb which killed 168 people in Oklahoma City (Oklahoma, USA) in 1995, did not feel he had a home and was rejected by women he sought relationships with. I found out that Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold, the high school students who shot their fellow students at school in Columbine (Colorado, USA) in 1999, were bullied at school and turned to bullying others as a way out. I wonder what Breivik’s life was like.

Of course, everyone has had bad experiences and some people can shake them off better than others. But as family, friends, and fellow citizens, it is our responsibility to minimize these bad experiences and to help those who have had a bad experience to come out of it. I feel that we, especially those in Western developed countries, are not doing a very good job at it. We are not doing a very good job at preventing these incidents from happening.

Tonight, I’m thinking of Anders Behring Breivik.


Military guards behind the parliament (“Stortinget”) building in Oslo on July 23, 2011.

lily in Quotes,Thoughts on July 23 2011 » 1 comment

I’m lucky

I saw someone today and realized how lucky I am.

It was at the ceremony for the Abel Prize (a prestigious annual prize awarded to an internationally renowned mathematician by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters). There he performed one of his most common job tasks.

When everyone was seated and the door was closed, the door opened again and he came in. Everyone stood up. After he sat down, everyone sat down again. After some speeches and some music, he went up the stage, gave the prize to the laureate and said “Congratulations”. Then there were more speeches and more music. The ceremony ended half an hour after he came in. He stood up, everyone stood up, he exited the hall, everyone followed.

Since he was born, his destiny was determined. He could not choose a career he desired and could not freely express his opinion. He attends ceremonies, shakes hands and says “Congratulations”. He may be one of today’s typical workers – he has to do a job that he does not particularly enjoy; but his situation is worse than the others – he can’t decide to quit.

He is the King of Norway.

lily in Thoughts on May 26 2011 » 0 comments

Another year wasted

When the sky was suddenly lit by fireworks from all directions, I exclaimed, “Another year wasted!” It was not only me, but surely many others and all of us collectively: The Copenhagen conference yielded no real results; in the two countries which I call home, one is still using more and cheaper energy to extract less but more expensive energy from the dirty tar sands at the expense of deformed fish and cancer-ridden villages and another continues to punish severely for “crimethink”.

But I’ve got to be better than those politicians. So I looked back more closely. Although there were no impressive accomplishments, I did seem to have made some progress towards obtaining more joy and freedom for myself and others:

1. Spent six weeks of vacation with mother. Strengthened individual body, soul, and relationship contributed directly to a better society.

2. Committed to promoting proportional representation in the province of British Columbia. Proportional representation is a electoral system that results in more democratic election results than the current system of first-past-the-post used in federal and provincial elections throughout Canada.

3. Obtained Chartered Accountant designation. My service to the public accounting industry ceased to be a commitment.

4. Started purchasing some food from a local food supplier. My goal in the next two years is to buy 90% of food from local sources (within a 150km range), grow some food myself, and thus reduce the pollution and slavery created by the global food system (see more in the movie Food Inc.; although focusing on USA, it’s a good representation of the food system in most developed nations).

5. Biked or used public transportation 95% of the time while travelling for less than 10km.

And with that, I have no more regret.

lily in Thoughts on January 01 2010 » 1 comment

Observed trend of modern photography

High resolution, higher resolution! In every corner of the picture!

(Conclusion above is based on my observation of the photography exhibits at National Art Gallery of Canada and the Art Gallery of Ontario.)

lily in Photography,Thoughts on October 12 2009 » 0 comments

Untitled

Any government that builds grandiose structures has something to hide from its people.

lily in Politics,Thoughts on September 05 2009 » 0 comments