jump to content immediately

Posts filed under '引语'

现代艺术

太多的现代艺术作品为了丑陋而丑陋。
——麦克·亚当斯,艺术家

lily in 引语 on 二月 09 2012 » 1 comment

被迫效仿

读二十多篇专业文章,择出只言片语,再把它们拼凑起来。师范学院就是希望我们这样写文章。刚过去的这学期是我的第一次这类经历,也是我第一次真正的理解罗伯特•波西格在《禅与摩托车维修艺术》中说的那段话:

学校教你去模仿。如果你不模仿,老师就给你很差的分数。而在大学里,情况就复杂多了;你必须要让老师觉得,虽然你实际是在模仿,但是表面上并没有在模仿,而是吸收老师指示的重点,然后再走自己的路。这样做你就能拿高分。如果你背道而驰的去独创,就可能拿到任何成绩——从满分到不及格。整个评分制度警戒这种做法。

有人还疑问为什么能启迪学生的老师不可多得吗?

 

lily in 读书,引语 on 十二月 24 2011 » 0 comments

想着安德斯·布列维克

如果我们每个人的生活中都有一个人对我们说:“无论如何我都会爱你”,那么我们就永远不会进精神病院。

—— 利奧.巴士卡力,《爱、生活与学习》

今天,悲剧发生后的的第一天,我路过奥斯陆市中心。街道上的人流几乎恢复到了往常的密度,然而看着从未见过的守卫议会楼的持枪士兵,人们的思绪不停的回到昨天的事件上。新闻里、甚至整个国家电视频道里除了对这件事的报道没有别的内容。这个从二战以来就没有恨过任何人的国家今天有一个敌人——安德斯·布列维克——悲剧的罪魁祸首(至少是其中之一),一个在奥斯陆长大的挪威本土人,一个被邻居描述为“有时太客气”的人。

但是现在,我在想着安德斯·布列维克。

他是什么样的人?他小的时候他的父母有没有花时间陪他玩耍和学习?他的家人和他是否还很近,他们是否还经常走动、一起开怀大笑?他有没有一个在他遇到困难时可以与之倾吐的导师?他有没有遇到过一个与其说“如果⋯⋯我就会爱你”而无条件爱他的人?

听到新闻中说他的同学记得他却没有和他保持联系的时候,我想到了这些问题。我查到1995年在美国俄克拉荷马市炸死168人的麦克威曾感到自己没有家并被他追求的女人们拒绝。我查到1999年在美国科罗拉多州科伦拜中学对自己同学们开枪的哈里斯和克莱伯德曾在学校被暴力欺辱,而后为了解脱转向欺辱别人。我想知道布列维克的生活是什么样子的。

当然,每个人都有过遭遇,而且有的人比别人能更快更好的再次站起来。但是作为家人、朋友和同胞,我们有责任减少这些遭遇并且帮助那些有过遭遇的人从中挣脱出来。我觉得我们——尤其是在西方发达国家的我们这些人——在这方面做得并不好。我们在防止这类事件发生上做得并不好。

今晚,我在想着安德斯·布列维克。


议会(“Stortinget”)楼后面的军事警卫,2011年7月23日,奥斯陆。

lily in 引语,思考 on 七月 23 2011 » 1 comment

思维的版图

收拾旧文件的时候我发现了2003年9月我随便写的一篇读后感。书名叫做《思维的版图——亚洲人和西方人的思维如何不同,为什么不同》(作者:理查德·尼斯贝特 Richard E. Nisbett,2003年出版,英文)。读着读后感,不免惊讶于我本人的“思维”从那时到现在变化的有多么大。以下三个题目,首先是引自书中的话,然后是我2003年的“思维”,紧接着的是我现在的“思维”。

亚洲人实际上是在内疚的压力下要表现得谦虚(第54页)⋯⋯西方推行要自我感觉良好,而亚洲人要努力改善自我(第56页)。

2003年感想:不是什么新发现,两方面的例子都很多。我有时仍然有这样的“内疚”感。当我和一个在加拿大出生的同学谈到宏观经济的期末考试时,发现我们两个人都学过微观经济。想到我最后成绩只有89分,我说我那门课考得不好。他马上说他考得很好。直觉告诉我他的成绩比我的低。

2011年感想:我记不得曾经称89分为“不好”,但是我现在恐怕不会再这么说了。几个月前一位在欧洲住了三年的中国女士给我打预防针说我可能会不喜欢欧洲人的思维方式,岂不知我已经在加拿大被大大的西化了。

西方家长时刻要求孩子要自己独立做事、独立做决定。“你想现在上床睡觉还是想先吃点什么再睡?”亚洲家长替孩子做决定。他们认为家长知道什么是对孩子最好的(第58页)。

2003年感想:在和一个在加拿大出生的朋友辩论时,他坚持说一个20岁的人在自己的事情上做的决定一定是最好的。但是我告诉他我的重大决定需要取得家长的同意;我的家长不认为孩子在自己的事情上做的决定总是最好的;他们想帮助我因为他们关心我。他说他的父母也关心他,但却用完全不同的方式。我们两个非常迷惑,觉得无法理解对方,因为当时我们俩都没有读到这本书。

2011年感想:自从那场辩论之后我做了一些大胆的实验,发现一个20岁的人果真可以做出很好的决定。就像小孩儿跌倒了再爬起来一样,一个人须要练习做决定才能做出好决定。中国的父母确实可以多给20岁的子女一点儿信任,他们才能学会跌倒后如何再站起来。

西方人教孩子要清楚的表达自己的想法,要采取一个“传送者”的方针。也就是说,说话的一方有责任说出让听话一方清楚理解的话。而相对而言亚洲人教孩子要采取一个“接收者”的方针。⋯⋯如果一个孩子大声唱歌打搅一个美国家长,家长就会简单的告诉孩子要减小声音。一个亚洲家长就很可能说:“你唱得多好听啊。”一开始可能孩子会很高兴,但是慢慢会觉察到家长的意思并不是这个,就会稍微安静一些甚至完全不唱了(第60页)。

2003年感想:“传送者”的方针可以在加拿大学校教学生如何写作文中体现出来——文章一定要容易理解。我在中国上学的时候从不须要考虑这方面。我们习惯于分析文章的潜在意义,并且被鼓励着去写含有类比的文章、用有“隐藏意义”的词句。由于每个人学的都是“接收者”的方针,文章的读者也就被认为有能力去推断这些隐藏意义,并体会到文章的趣味。我甚至和我在加拿大的第一个英语老师争论:如果所有的事情都明确的表达出来,文章就没有一点意思了。他认为我的理由不成立。

2011年感想:2003年的批注仍然有效,因为提到的多是事实,想法或态度的成分较少。从那时以来,我的写作风格已经变为清楚、简洁、直白了,甚至在加拿大大学最后一年(2006年)我写的一份报告还击败了其它几百个报告获了奖。 同化的程度很惊人。

lily in 读书,引语 on 二月 08 2011 » 0 comments

麦克尔·杰克逊

1993年洛杉矶超级杯橄榄球赛中场休息时:

“今天我们在这个地球上,为了一个共同目的站在一起,那就是把这个星球再造成一个充满快乐、理解和善意的避风港。任何人都不应该遭受痛苦,尤其是我们的孩子。这次我们必须成功。这首歌献给全世界的孩子们。”

接着他开始唱《拯救世界》。

lily in 引语 on 七月 06 2009 » 1 comment

孙中山的梦想

这是于2003年在中国播出的一部有争议电视最后几分钟的一篇讲话。听说这篇讲话没有播出。这段话诉说了孙中山一个世纪前的梦想,也仍然是直今很多人的梦想:

我知道你们很着急。张勋复辟了,国会又开不成了。我知道。我啊,我急的不是这个。这些日子我想了很多:

我们本来是共和国,可怎么一次又一次地出现了封建主义专制主义的东西!这个问题不解决,专制复辟就是必然的,共和国就永远是一个泡影。

共和的观念,是平等、自由、博爱嘛。可民国六年来,我们看到的是什么:各级行政官员都视法律为粪土。民众,仍被奴役着。

民国应该是自由之国!自由是民众天赋的权利。可民国六年来,我们看到的是什么:是只有当权者的自由,权力大的有权力大的自由,权力小的有权力小的自由。民众,没有权力,没有自由。

民国应该是博爱之国!人人为我,我为人人。可民国六年来,我们又看到了是什么:是只有民众对当权者恐惧的爱;而当权者对民众,只有口头上虚伪的爱。 那种真诚真挚的博爱,我们看不到啊!

民国更应该是法制之国!可民国六年来,我们看到的是行政权力一次又一次地肆无忌惮地干涉立法:你不听话,我就收买你;你不服从,我就逮捕你,甚至暗杀你。立法者成了行政官员随意蹂躏的妓女。

那行政是什么呢?行政,应该说是大总统及其一整套文官制度,应该是服务于国民,行共和之政。可民国六年来,我们看到的是什么:是一个打着共和旗帜的家天下,在这个家天下的行政中,我们根本看不到透明的行政程序,更看不到监督之制。那些行政官员,是如何花掉民众的血汗钱,民众不知道那些行政官员把多少钱揣进了自己的腰包。你们不知道吧?我也不知道。

你们都知道司法是裁判吧,这个裁判的原则是什么?是一部主权在民的共和国宪法。可民国六年来,我们根本没有看到这么一部宪法嘛。就那部不成熟的《临时约法》,也一次又一次地被强奸。

有人说……不…不是一个人,是有一些人说:共和国,它只是一个称号而已。你孙大炮说的这些太虚幻、太遥远,不符合国情。它就像一个气球,看着很美丽,可一飞上天哪,“砰”,破灭了。我想请问你,我们不要共和了吗?难道共和真错了吗?如果我们不要共和,那我们有的就永远是专制。如果我们不要共和,那我们有的就永远是被奴役。如果共和错了,那自由就是错的。如果共和错了,那平等就是错的。如果共和错了,那博爱就是错的吗!我们追求的共和没有错。当然,它还不完善。所以我们要一点一滴的去完善它,哪怕为此要付出代价呢!

对了,我今天穿的这身衣服有点古怪是吧,连裁缝都说是很奇怪的。但是我要说,这是为了完善共和,你们还觉得奇怪是吗?我要说,这就是共和,这就是共和的衣服。这边(指着一边的袖口),我设计了三颗扣子,共和的理念,就是平等、自由、博爱。这边也有三颗扣子:民族、民权、民生。那宪法呢?我说的不是三权宪法啊。我发明了个新词,叫五权宪法。(分别指着衣服上的三个口袋)这里装的是立法权,这儿装的是行政权(指着第四个口袋),这儿装的是司法权,这三权你们都很熟悉,叫间接民权。我情有独钟的是直接民权。要让普通的民众都有直接参政议政的权力!

一个是考试权,我们中国古代就有考试的传统,后来把科举废除了。当然,这对后来大兴新学有好处。可当官就不再考试了。这不好!这就像倒脏水把孩子也倒出去一样了。民国六年来,在行政上用的是什么人哪?都是他袁世凯北洋的人,至今还如此。所以我们要把考试权还给民众。今后,凡行政用人,一定要经过考试,不管是谁。

还有一个是弹劾权。没地儿装了(摸着四个口袋),不急,不急,装在这儿(打开衣襟,指着里面的口袋):弹劾权。为什么要把弹劾权藏在里面呢?因为它是民众的杀手锏,它说不定什么时候就突然杀出来,弹劾你。所以你要战战兢兢的当官,老老实实的为民做事。

我想这回有人更要说我孙文是个疯子了,吃饭穿衣都说共和,你孙大炮还会什么?他说的对。我只知道共和这两个字,我这一辈子就认这两个字:共和。我们有许多志士同仁为了共和,连生命都献出了。我孙文此生啊,没有别地希望,就一个希望,那就是:让共和不仅是一个名词,一句空话,或一个形式,要让它成为我们实实在在的生活方式,让它成为我们牢不可破地信念!共和,是普天之下民众的选择,是世界的潮流。世界潮流浩浩荡荡,顺之者昌,逆之者亡。我孙文相信,我们这个中华民族啊,它一定会实现共和的!我坚信这一点。

lily in 政治,引语 on 六月 02 2009 » 0 comments

jump to content immediately

Posts filed under 'Quotes'

Modern art

So much modern art is ugly for the sake of being ugly.
– Mike Adams, artist

lily in Quotes on February 09 2012 » 1 comment

Under compulsion to imitate

Read twenty or so articles on a certain subject, pick out bits and pieces, and then glue them together. This is how we are expected to write mini-papers at teachers’ college. This past semester is the first time I have done this, and also the first time I fully understood what Robert Pirsig meant in Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance:

Schools teach you to imitate. If you don’t imitate as the teacher wants, you get a bad grade. Here in college, it was more sophisticated, of course; you were supposed to imitate the teacher in a way to convince the teacher you were not imitating, but taking the essence of the instruction and going ahead with it on your own. That got you A’s. Originality on the other hand, could get you anything – from A to F. The whole grading system cautioned against it.

Anyone still wonder why inspiring teachers are hard to come by?

lily in Books,Quotes on December 24 2011 » 0 comments

Thinking of Anders Behring Breivik

If everyone just had one single person in his life who says, “I will love you no matter what”, then we’ll never end up in mental institutions.

– Leo Buscaglia, “Living, Loving and Learning”

I passed by the centre of Oslo today, the day after the tragic events. The streets are fairly full again, although the never-before-seen armed soldiers guarding the parliament building bring people ever closer to what happened yesterday. There is nothing in the news, or on the national TV channel, other than coverage about the incidents. The nation, which had not hated anyone since WWII, has one enemy today – Anders Behring Breivik, the (or at least one) culprit, a native Norwegian who grew up in Oslo, and who is described by his neighbours as being “sometimes overly polite”.

But right now, I’m thinking of Anders Behring Breivik.

Who is he? Did his parents spend time with him, both playing and learning, when he was young? Does his family still live close to him, visit him and laugh with him? Did he, or does he have a mentor he could talk to when he’s stuck? Did he ever meet someone who would love him unconditionally, instead of saying “I will love you, if …”?

I thought of these questions when they said in the news that his schoolmates remember him but have not kept in touch with him. I found out that Timothy McVeigh, who detonated a bomb which killed 168 people in Oklahoma City (Oklahoma, USA) in 1995, did not feel he had a home and was rejected by women he sought relationships with. I found out that Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold, the high school students who shot their fellow students at school in Columbine (Colorado, USA) in 1999, were bullied at school and turned to bullying others as a way out. I wonder what Breivik’s life was like.

Of course, everyone has had bad experiences and some people can shake them off better than others. But as family, friends, and fellow citizens, it is our responsibility to minimize these bad experiences and to help those who have had a bad experience to come out of it. I feel that we, especially those in Western developed countries, are not doing a very good job at it. We are not doing a very good job at preventing these incidents from happening.

Tonight, I’m thinking of Anders Behring Breivik.


Military guards behind the parliament (“Stortinget”) building in Oslo on July 23, 2011.

lily in Quotes,Thoughts on July 23 2011 » 1 comment

The Geography of Thought

While archiving old files, I found this piece I wrote casually after reading the book “The Geography of Thought – How Asians and Westerners Think Differently … and Why” (2003) by
Richard E. Nisbett in September 2003. I’m surprised at how much my own thoughts have changed since then. Below are three topics: first the quote from the book, then my thoughts in 2003, followed by my thoughts now.

Asians are in fact under greater compunction to appear modest (pg. 54) … the Western push to feel good about the self and the Asian drive for self-improvement… (pg. 56)

2003 comment: Not much a new idea, there are endless examples for both sides. I’m sometimes still under such “compunction”. When talking about the macroeconomics final exam with a Canadian-born, we found out we had both taken microeconomics. Thinking of my 89% final mark, I said I didn’t do well on that course; he immediately responded that he did very well. My intuition told me at once that his mark was lower than mine.

2011 comment: I can’t remember referring to a 89% grade as not good, and I probably wouldn’t do the same now. A few months ago a Chinese lady who have lived in Europe for three years warned me that I might not like way people think in Europe, not knowing that I have been much westernized in Canada.

Western parents constantly require their children to do things on their own and ask them to make their own choices. ‘Would you like to go to bed now or would you like to have a snack first?’ The Asian parent makes the decision for the child on the assumption that the parent knows best what is good for the child. (pg. 58)

2003 comment: In a debate with a Canadian-born friend, he insisted that a decision made by a 20-year-old must be the best for himself/herself. But I told him I need consent from parents on important decisions I would make; my parents don’t always think what the kids think is best for themselves is the best; they want to help make decisions because they care about me. He said his parents care about him, but in a completely different way. We were seriously puzzled and found it extremely difficult to understand each other because neither of us read this book at the time.

2011 comment: Since that debate and after conducting some courageous experiments, I have discovered that a 20-year-old is quite capable of making decisions by himself/herself. It’s one of those things like falling and getting up again; one needs to practice decision-making in order to get good at it. Chinese 20-year-olds can surely use a little more trust from their parents and learn how to get up again from a fall.

Westerners teach their children to communicate their ideas clearly and to adopt a ‘transmitter’ orientation, that is, the speaker is responsible for uttering sentences that can be clearly understood by the hearer. … Asians, in contrast, teach their children a ‘receiver’ orientation. … If a child’s loud singing annoys an American parent, the parent would be likely just to tell the kid to pipe down. No ambiguity there. The Asian parent would be more likely to say, ‘How well you sing a song.’ At first the child might feel pleased, but it would likely dawn on the child that something else might have been meant and the child would try being quieter or not singing at all. (pg. 60)

2003 comment: The transmitter orientation is reflected in the way Canadian schools teach children how to write essays – it must be very easily understood. I never had to worry about that in Chinese schools. We got used to analyzing underlying ideas of articles and were encouraged to write essays that contained analogies and to use words with “hidden meanings”. Because everyone was taught the “receiver orientation”, the reader of such an essay was assumed to be able to infer the hidden meanings and to find the essay amusing. I even argued with my first English teacher in Canada that if everything were explicitly expressed, the essay wouldn’t be interesting at all; he didn’t think I making a valid point.

2011 comment: My 2003 comment is still valid as it was related more to a fact than an opinion or attitude. My own writing style has since become clear, concise, and straight-forward.  I have even beat hundreds of other students and won an award for a report I wrote in my last year of university (2006) in Canada. The degree of assimilation is astounding.

lily in Books,Quotes on February 08 2011 » 0 comments

Michael Jackson

During the intermission of the 1993 Superbowl in Los Angelos:

“Today we stand together all around the world, joined in a common purpose, to remake the planet into a haven of joy and understanding and goodness.  No one should have to suffer, especially our children.  This time we must succeed. This is for the children of the world.”

Then he started singing “Heal the World”.

lily in Quotes on July 06 2009 » 1 comment

Sun Yat-Sen’s dream

This is a speech taken from the last few minutes of the controversial TV-series that aired in China in 2003. The speech was reported as not being aired.  It tells a dream of Sun Yat-Sen a century ago, and a dream of many today still.

I know you are all very worried. Zhang Xun restored the emperor; the Congress cannot meet again. I know. But this is not what I’ve been worried about. I have been thinking a lot these days:

It goes without saying that we are a republic, but why do things feudalistic and totalitarian emerge again and again! If this problem is not solved, the restoration of a dictatorship will be inevitable and the republic will always be a bubble.

The concepts of the Republic are Equality, Freedom, and Universal Love. But what have we seen during the six years of the Republic: All levels of government officials neglect the law. The people are still enslaved.

The Republic should be a country of freedom! Freedom is a right granted by God. But what have we seen during the six years of the Republic: Only the politicians have freedom; the more powerful have more freedom, the less powerful less freedom. The people have neither power nor freedom.

The Republic should be a country of universal love! Everyone helps me and I help everyone. But what have we seen during the six years of the Republic: There is only the people’s fearful love towards the politicians and the politicians’ false love in their speeches. The kind of honest and sincere universal love, we cannot see!

The Republic should be furthermore a country regulated by law. But what have we seen during the six years of the Republic is that the executive power unscrupulously intervene with the legislature again and again: If you don’t do as I say, I will pay you off; if you don’t obey, I will arrest you, or even murder you. The legislature has become a prostitute that the government officials ravage at their will.

What is the executive then? The executive should be the president, along with his entire administration system, working for the citizens and executing the policies of the Republic. But what have we seen during the six years of the Republic: It is a country ruled by one family hidden behind a republican flag. Under the executive of this family-ruled country, we cannot see transparent executive processes, not to mention a monitoring system. How did those government officials spend people’s hard-earned money? How much money did they stuff in their own pockets? You don’t know, do you? I don’t know either.

We all know that the justice system is a referee. What is this referee’s principle then? It is a constitution of the Republic empowering the people. But during the six years of the Republic, we have not seen such a constitution. Even the immature Provisional Constitution has been raped again and again.

Someone said…no, not one person, some people said: The Republic is merely a label. These things you Cannon Sun (a nickname given for the confrontational nature of Sun Yat-Sen’s speeches) speak of are too illusory, too remote, unsuitable for our country. It’s like a balloon: It looks beautiful, but once it goes up in the air, “bang”, it blows up. I would like to ask you: Do we not want a republic? Is republic really wrong? If republic is wrong, then freedom is wrong. If republic is wrong, then equality is wrong. If republic is wrong, then universal love is wrong! The republic we have been pursuing is not wrong. Of course, it is not yet perfect. That’s why we need to perfect it bit by bit, even if it requires us to pay a price!

Right, my outfit today is a little strange, isn’t it? Even the tailor said it was very peculiar. But if I say it is to perfect the Republic, would you still think it strange? I want to say, this is the republic, this is a republic jacket. On this side (pointing to one of his cuff’s), I designed three buttons; the ideals of the Republic are Equality, Freedom and Universal Love. On this side (pointing to the other cuff) there are also three buttons: nationalism, democracy, and social welfare.

What about the Constitution? I’m not talking about the Three-Power Constitution. I invented a new term: Five-Power Constitution. (Pointing to three pockets on his jacket) In here is the legislature, here the executive, and here the justice. You are all familiar with these three powers, called indirect democracy. What I most favour is direct democracy. The average citizen needs to have the right to directly participate and debate in politics.

In here is the right to write exams (pointing to the fourth pocket). Ever since the ancient China, we had had the tradition of selecting politicians based on their performance in examinations until we abolished the imperial examination system. Of course, the abolition was good for the spread of modern sciences. But one didn’t need to pass exams to become a politician anymore. This is not good. It was like throwing out the baby with the bath water. During the six years of the Republic, what kind of people have been used in the government? All of them are from Yuan Shikai’s Beiyang Army. So we need to return the right to write exams to the people. From now on, all government officials must be selected based on exam results, no matter who they are.

Another one is the right to impeach. There is no pocket left (touching all four pockets). Don’t worry; it can go in here (unbuttoning his jacket, pointing to the pocket inside): the right to impeach. Why do we hide it inside? It’s the people’s secret weapon. You never know when it will break out to impeach you. That’s why you need to be cautious in your position as an official, dutifully serving your people.

I think by now some people will be ever more determined to say I’m a madman, eating the republic and dressing the republic. What else do you know, Cannon Sun? They are right. I know only this one word; my whole life is devoted to this one word: Republic. Many of our patriotic friends have given up their lives for a republic. In my lifetime I wish for no other but this: That republic is not only a terminology, an empty word, or a formality, but it becomes our lifestyle in reality and it becomes our unbreakable faith. Republic is the choice of all people under the sky, the trend of the whole world. The world trend is mighty; the adapting prospers and the opposing perishes. I, Sun Wen, believe that we, the Chinese people, will definitely realize the republic. I firmly believe it.

(Translated from original version in Chinese to English by L.R.C.)

lily in Politics,Quotes on June 02 2009 » 0 comments