jump to content immediately

Posts filed under '读书'

Goodreads(好书)

发现了一个有意思的网站 Goodreads(好书)。可以记录我以前读过的、现在正在读的和以后想要读的书。可以给书评分、加好友、看好友的书目。我最喜欢的功能是比较我和好友对同一本书的评分。再见面时能由此进行一些有趣的讨论。

lily in 读书 on 三月 14 2012 » 0 comments

被迫效仿

读二十多篇专业文章,择出只言片语,再把它们拼凑起来。师范学院就是希望我们这样写文章。刚过去的这学期是我的第一次这类经历,也是我第一次真正的理解罗伯特•波西格在《禅与摩托车维修艺术》中说的那段话:

学校教你去模仿。如果你不模仿,老师就给你很差的分数。而在大学里,情况就复杂多了;你必须要让老师觉得,虽然你实际是在模仿,但是表面上并没有在模仿,而是吸收老师指示的重点,然后再走自己的路。这样做你就能拿高分。如果你背道而驰的去独创,就可能拿到任何成绩——从满分到不及格。整个评分制度警戒这种做法。

有人还疑问为什么能启迪学生的老师不可多得吗?

 

lily in 读书,引语 on 十二月 24 2011 » 0 comments

那本我想找的书

我恐怕找到了和我所寻求的“关于一个凡人或弱势者本人在一个动荡社会的生活的书”最接近的一本书(见我早先的文章寻找一本书)。书名叫《非法挪威人》(原名为《Ulovlig norsk》),作者是玛利亚·阿莫利(Maria Amelie)。

书中讲述的是作者作为一个在挪威的非法居民的亲身经历。虽然社会不是动荡的,但是她的生活却充满了恐惧和不确定。16岁的时候,她和父母从俄国首先逃离到芬兰,然后到挪威,寻求庇护。当他们的难民身份申请被屡屡拒绝后,他们决定隐匿起来,继续留在挪威,从而冒着时刻被驱逐出境的危险。尽管从来都无法知道明天会发生什么,作者还是完成了中学,上了大学,拿到了自然科学的硕士学位。她讲述了无情的法律如何不将她当人对待,也讲述了善良的人们如何给予她对未来的希望。

这本书是用挪威语写的(巴克摩挪威语,即Bokmål),似乎还没有被译成其它语言。

lily in 读书 on 四月 03 2011 » 0 comments

思维的版图

收拾旧文件的时候我发现了2003年9月我随便写的一篇读后感。书名叫做《思维的版图——亚洲人和西方人的思维如何不同,为什么不同》(作者:理查德·尼斯贝特 Richard E. Nisbett,2003年出版,英文)。读着读后感,不免惊讶于我本人的“思维”从那时到现在变化的有多么大。以下三个题目,首先是引自书中的话,然后是我2003年的“思维”,紧接着的是我现在的“思维”。

亚洲人实际上是在内疚的压力下要表现得谦虚(第54页)⋯⋯西方推行要自我感觉良好,而亚洲人要努力改善自我(第56页)。

2003年感想:不是什么新发现,两方面的例子都很多。我有时仍然有这样的“内疚”感。当我和一个在加拿大出生的同学谈到宏观经济的期末考试时,发现我们两个人都学过微观经济。想到我最后成绩只有89分,我说我那门课考得不好。他马上说他考得很好。直觉告诉我他的成绩比我的低。

2011年感想:我记不得曾经称89分为“不好”,但是我现在恐怕不会再这么说了。几个月前一位在欧洲住了三年的中国女士给我打预防针说我可能会不喜欢欧洲人的思维方式,岂不知我已经在加拿大被大大的西化了。

西方家长时刻要求孩子要自己独立做事、独立做决定。“你想现在上床睡觉还是想先吃点什么再睡?”亚洲家长替孩子做决定。他们认为家长知道什么是对孩子最好的(第58页)。

2003年感想:在和一个在加拿大出生的朋友辩论时,他坚持说一个20岁的人在自己的事情上做的决定一定是最好的。但是我告诉他我的重大决定需要取得家长的同意;我的家长不认为孩子在自己的事情上做的决定总是最好的;他们想帮助我因为他们关心我。他说他的父母也关心他,但却用完全不同的方式。我们两个非常迷惑,觉得无法理解对方,因为当时我们俩都没有读到这本书。

2011年感想:自从那场辩论之后我做了一些大胆的实验,发现一个20岁的人果真可以做出很好的决定。就像小孩儿跌倒了再爬起来一样,一个人须要练习做决定才能做出好决定。中国的父母确实可以多给20岁的子女一点儿信任,他们才能学会跌倒后如何再站起来。

西方人教孩子要清楚的表达自己的想法,要采取一个“传送者”的方针。也就是说,说话的一方有责任说出让听话一方清楚理解的话。而相对而言亚洲人教孩子要采取一个“接收者”的方针。⋯⋯如果一个孩子大声唱歌打搅一个美国家长,家长就会简单的告诉孩子要减小声音。一个亚洲家长就很可能说:“你唱得多好听啊。”一开始可能孩子会很高兴,但是慢慢会觉察到家长的意思并不是这个,就会稍微安静一些甚至完全不唱了(第60页)。

2003年感想:“传送者”的方针可以在加拿大学校教学生如何写作文中体现出来——文章一定要容易理解。我在中国上学的时候从不须要考虑这方面。我们习惯于分析文章的潜在意义,并且被鼓励着去写含有类比的文章、用有“隐藏意义”的词句。由于每个人学的都是“接收者”的方针,文章的读者也就被认为有能力去推断这些隐藏意义,并体会到文章的趣味。我甚至和我在加拿大的第一个英语老师争论:如果所有的事情都明确的表达出来,文章就没有一点意思了。他认为我的理由不成立。

2011年感想:2003年的批注仍然有效,因为提到的多是事实,想法或态度的成分较少。从那时以来,我的写作风格已经变为清楚、简洁、直白了,甚至在加拿大大学最后一年(2006年)我写的一份报告还击败了其它几百个报告获了奖。 同化的程度很惊人。

lily in 读书,引语 on 二月 08 2011 » 0 comments

世界现状

正在读《世界现状》(英文,可以在这里买到)。回想最近这次在中国旅行时看到的物欲横流。厌恶于西方社会及越来越多的其它社会所追求的理想生活的图景。


一张典型的发到加拿大家庭信箱中的传单(推销房屋和汽车保险)。

lily in 读书,环境 on 十一月 06 2010 » 0 comments

寻找一本书

今年夏天有幸在奥斯陆大学图书馆找到了伊尔凡·欧加(Irfan Orga)的《一个土耳其家庭》(Portrait of A Turkish Family,《土》)。这本书是一年前一位朋友推荐的,坚持寻找了一年终于找到了,很是兴奋。书讲的是作者的家族史,从帝国时代拥有几个仆人的闲适生活,到第一次世界大战后的饥饿和艰难。不仅文字很美,还令读者对土耳其的文化和风景大开眼界。

《土》让我想起了最近出版的一本书:卡勒德·胡赛尼的《追风筝的人》(《追》)。很多人知道这本书,讲的是一个阿富汗富人家的男孩和他家仆人的儿子的友情。故事背景与《土》极为相似——一系列的事件使一时富有的家庭沦为了异国生活艰辛的难民。同样与《土》相似的是,《追》也生动的描写了阿富汗的风土人情。

两本书都取得了极高的文学成就。然而在我读着《土》想着《追》的时候,总觉得缺少了些什么。诚然,两本书的主人公的家庭都陷入了困境,但是至少当伊尔凡的家庭面临饥饿的时候,他的祖母还有贵重的家居可以卖;《追》的主人公阿米尔和他的阔父亲还得以逃离苏联的侵略流亡到北美。不管怎么说,他们都算是本国的幸运儿,都在社会上层。而大多数不如他们幸运的、在和平时期都为温饱挣扎、在战争时期家人饥饿致死的人,有没有描写他们的生活的一本书呢?

我能想到的最接近这个要求的是作家欣然讲述中国妇女真实故事的《中国好女人》。但是这本书并不适合与《土》、《追》相比,因为书中的故事多为轶事,相互没有关联,而且是以第三者的位置观察的,不是直接用第一人称讲述。所以我要寻求的就是:一本或虚构或真实的关于一个凡人或弱势者本人在一个动荡社会的生活的书

如果我能找到这样一本书会十分感激。然而即使找不到,我也不会失望,因为这样的书少恐怕是有缘由的。一个可能性就是弱势群体整天为果腹而奔波以致没有时间去观察思考生活。于是,当一位作家有兴趣采访他们时,他们不能描述自己的生活、记不起往事的细节,更不用要说他们自己写一本书了。乔治·奥威尔在《一九八四》中巧妙的描写了这个问题。主人公想知道大众的看法,让几个幸存下来的老人比较现在在专政之下和以前在一个较为自由的世界里的生活。他的结论是:

“‘革命前的生活比现在的好吗?’这个问题很快就无法回答了。但其实现在已经无法回答了,因为几个零星的古代的幸存者没有比较两个时代的能力。他们只记得千百万个没用的细节,和一个同事吵架,寻找丢失了的打气筒,一位早已死去的姐姐脸上最后的表情,七十年前一个风天早上飞旋的沙土:而一切相关的事实都在他们的视野之外。”

lily in 读书 on 九月 24 2010 » 0 comments

唐·吉诃德

1961年印刷,定价50美分。

在我拾起它之前完好无损。读的时候生怕读完了书也就消失了。幸好没有发生。

lily in 读书 on 五月 10 2010 » 0 comments

jump to content immediately

Posts filed under 'Books'

Goodreads

Came across a neat site Goodreads, where I can track the books I have read, the ones I am reading, and the ones I would like to read. I can rate books and add friends and see their list of books. My favourite feature is comparing my ratings to friends’ ratings of the same books. This can generate some fun discussions next time we meet.

lily in Books on March 14 2012 » 0 comments

Under compulsion to imitate

Read twenty or so articles on a certain subject, pick out bits and pieces, and then glue them together. This is how we are expected to write mini-papers at teachers’ college. This past semester is the first time I have done this, and also the first time I fully understood what Robert Pirsig meant in Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance:

Schools teach you to imitate. If you don’t imitate as the teacher wants, you get a bad grade. Here in college, it was more sophisticated, of course; you were supposed to imitate the teacher in a way to convince the teacher you were not imitating, but taking the essence of the instruction and going ahead with it on your own. That got you A’s. Originality on the other hand, could get you anything – from A to F. The whole grading system cautioned against it.

Anyone still wonder why inspiring teachers are hard to come by?

lily in Books,Quotes on December 24 2011 » 0 comments

The book I was looking for

I think I have come across a book closest to what I have been looking for: To find a well-written book about an average person or an underprivileged person’s own life in a tumultuous society (see my earlier post Looking for a book). It’s called Illegally Norwegian (original title is “Ulovlig norsk”), written by Maria Amelie.

The book tells the author’s own story about being an illegal resident in Norway. Although the society is not “tumultuous”, her own life is full of fear and uncertainty. At age 16, she fled from Russia first to Finland, then to Norway with her parents, seeking asylum. After their application for refugee status was turned down several times, they decided to go into hiding and keep staying in Norway, and thus risking being deported at any moment. Even without ever knowing what is going to happen tomorrow, the author finished high school, went to university, and got a master’s degree in science and technology. She tells the ruthlessness of the legal system that does not treat her as a human being, and the kindness of people that give her hope for the future.

The book is written in Norwegian (book language, or Bokmål in Norwegian) and does not appear to have been translated to any other language.

lily in Books on April 03 2011 » 0 comments

The Geography of Thought

While archiving old files, I found this piece I wrote casually after reading the book “The Geography of Thought – How Asians and Westerners Think Differently … and Why” (2003) by
Richard E. Nisbett in September 2003. I’m surprised at how much my own thoughts have changed since then. Below are three topics: first the quote from the book, then my thoughts in 2003, followed by my thoughts now.

Asians are in fact under greater compunction to appear modest (pg. 54) … the Western push to feel good about the self and the Asian drive for self-improvement… (pg. 56)

2003 comment: Not much a new idea, there are endless examples for both sides. I’m sometimes still under such “compunction”. When talking about the macroeconomics final exam with a Canadian-born, we found out we had both taken microeconomics. Thinking of my 89% final mark, I said I didn’t do well on that course; he immediately responded that he did very well. My intuition told me at once that his mark was lower than mine.

2011 comment: I can’t remember referring to a 89% grade as not good, and I probably wouldn’t do the same now. A few months ago a Chinese lady who have lived in Europe for three years warned me that I might not like way people think in Europe, not knowing that I have been much westernized in Canada.

Western parents constantly require their children to do things on their own and ask them to make their own choices. ‘Would you like to go to bed now or would you like to have a snack first?’ The Asian parent makes the decision for the child on the assumption that the parent knows best what is good for the child. (pg. 58)

2003 comment: In a debate with a Canadian-born friend, he insisted that a decision made by a 20-year-old must be the best for himself/herself. But I told him I need consent from parents on important decisions I would make; my parents don’t always think what the kids think is best for themselves is the best; they want to help make decisions because they care about me. He said his parents care about him, but in a completely different way. We were seriously puzzled and found it extremely difficult to understand each other because neither of us read this book at the time.

2011 comment: Since that debate and after conducting some courageous experiments, I have discovered that a 20-year-old is quite capable of making decisions by himself/herself. It’s one of those things like falling and getting up again; one needs to practice decision-making in order to get good at it. Chinese 20-year-olds can surely use a little more trust from their parents and learn how to get up again from a fall.

Westerners teach their children to communicate their ideas clearly and to adopt a ‘transmitter’ orientation, that is, the speaker is responsible for uttering sentences that can be clearly understood by the hearer. … Asians, in contrast, teach their children a ‘receiver’ orientation. … If a child’s loud singing annoys an American parent, the parent would be likely just to tell the kid to pipe down. No ambiguity there. The Asian parent would be more likely to say, ‘How well you sing a song.’ At first the child might feel pleased, but it would likely dawn on the child that something else might have been meant and the child would try being quieter or not singing at all. (pg. 60)

2003 comment: The transmitter orientation is reflected in the way Canadian schools teach children how to write essays – it must be very easily understood. I never had to worry about that in Chinese schools. We got used to analyzing underlying ideas of articles and were encouraged to write essays that contained analogies and to use words with “hidden meanings”. Because everyone was taught the “receiver orientation”, the reader of such an essay was assumed to be able to infer the hidden meanings and to find the essay amusing. I even argued with my first English teacher in Canada that if everything were explicitly expressed, the essay wouldn’t be interesting at all; he didn’t think I making a valid point.

2011 comment: My 2003 comment is still valid as it was related more to a fact than an opinion or attitude. My own writing style has since become clear, concise, and straight-forward.  I have even beat hundreds of other students and won an award for a report I wrote in my last year of university (2006) in Canada. The degree of assimilation is astounding.

lily in Books,Quotes on February 08 2011 » 0 comments

State of the World

Reading “State of the World” (can be purchased here). Reflecting on the proliferation of consumerism I saw in China during my recent trip. Disgusted by the portrait of typically desired lifestyle in Western societies and in a growing many others.


A typical flyer distributed to many Canadian households.

lily in Books,Environment on November 06 2010 » 0 comments

Searching for a book

One of the books I was delighted to find this summer at the University of Oslo Library was Irfan Orga’s “Portrait of A Turkish Family”. It was recommended by a friend about a year ago and I’m glad that I found it and read it after a year’s continuous search. The book tells the story of the author’s family, from its peak with several servants and leisurely lifestyle in the imperial Turkey to the starvation and hardships during and after World War I. It is not only beautifully written, but also a great intro to Turkish culture and landscape.

“Portrait” reminds me of a more recently published book, “The Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini. Many people are familiar with this book, about a rich Afghan boy befriending the family servant’s son. Extremely similar to “Portrait”, the story is also set against the backdrop of a series of events which turned the once wealthy family into refugees in a foreign land, struggling for a living. Again similar to “Portrait”, the book gives a lively description of the land and culture of Afghanistan.

Both books were a huge literary success. However, as I was reading “Portrait” and thinking about “Kite”, I somehow sensed something missing. Surely the main character’s family in either book descended to hardship, but at least Irfan’s grandmother still had expensive furniture to sell when the family was near starvation and Amir, the main character in “Kite”, and his rich father managed to flee to North America and escape the Soviet invasion. At any rate, they were the lucky ones in their home country. They were in the upper echelon. What about the vast majority who were less privileged, who scratched for a living even during peaceful times, whose family might have starved to death during a war? Is there a book about those people’s lives?

The closest I can think of is Xinran’s “The Good Women of China”, which tells short true stories of Chinese women from all walks of life. However, the book is not quite comparable to “Portrait” or “Kite” because the stories are anecdotal and unrelated to each other. They are also observed and told from a third person point of view instead of the more direct first person. So this is my quest: To find a well-written book, be it fictional or non-fictional, about an average person or an underprivileged person’s own life in a tumultuous society.

I would be grateful if such a book can be found. Otherwise, I would not be disappointed because there may be good reasons for the lack of such books. One possible reason is that the underprivileged are so busy scratching a living for themselves they hardly have time to observe and reflect on life. Consequently, they may not be able to describe their life or remember details in the past if a writer is interested enough to interview them, let alone write a book by themselves. George Orwell masterfully depicted this issue in “Nineteen Eighty-Four”, when the main character, interested in the mass’s opinion, asked a few surviving older folks to compare life now under the dictatorship and life before in a freer world:

“‘Was life better before the revolution than it is now?’ would have ceased once and for all to be answerable. But in effect, it was unanswerable even now, since the few scattered survivors from the ancient world were incapable of comparing one age with another. They remembered a million useless things, a quarrel with a workmate, a hunt for a lost bike pump, the expression on a long dead sister’s face, the swirls of dust on a windy morning seventy years ago: but all the relevant facts were outside their vision.”

lily in Books on September 24 2010 » 0 comments

Don Quixote

Printed in 1961, listed for 50 US cents.

It was intact before I picked it up. As I was reading it, I was afraid that the book would disappear when I’m done. Luckily, it didn’t happen.

lily in Books on May 10 2010 » 0 comments